Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking of buying some of the white speedometer gauges but the only thing keeping me from ordering them is that I don't know how tough it will be to install them. I've seen some posts here and read through the instructions at v8sho.com, but would like to hear from others that have installed them already.

Did any of you have any significant problems or was it just a straight forward install? Will the instructions at v8sho work just the same for a 99 SE? And the one thing that I'm not too sure about.. do you have to remove the needles and re-align them after? Or can they go on without having to mess with the needles?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,180 Posts
the gauge face install isnt too hard. should take an hour or maybe a bit more. the SHO gauge faces will not work unless u get the SHO cluster
u can find SE ones on ebay
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I found the white gauges at ProCarParts for my 99 SE.. I was just wondering if the instructions they have at the v8sho web page will be the same for my SE. Or will the gauges come with a decent set of instructions that are focused on the SE?
 
S

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
I got mine from ProCarParts.com as well! The V8SHO.com instructions work the same. You'll be glad you added em on your car! I sure am. Also make sure that the speedo reads up to 120MPH (if you have a Duratec) and not the 110MPH. Also.... DO NOT REMOVE THE NEEDLES! You can manuver through the whole on both stock and aftermarket face gauges!!!! So, I thought I would warn you now. The install is basic, and VERY straight through! You can send me a personal message and I can help you when you're installing em by giving you a call. So, let me know and Im more then happy to help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sounds like it isnt too tough then.. I'll probably order them tomorrow. I have the Vulcan though.. so it's 110 MPH for me.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
15,578 Posts
I looked, but I couldn't find the ones with 120 MPH speedometer, only the 110...I have a Duratec, so I'd need the 120...where can i get these...also, I'm assuming they will be the same from Taurus to Sable, but the site didn't have a Sable listed as accepting the part...help?

BTW- This is my 100th posting!!!

JR
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
425 Posts
It’s pretty simple really, even without instructions. Mine didn’t come with instructions at all, but it wasn’t hard to figure out. Disconnect the battery ground. Pull the dash pod out, unscrew the gauges and pull that out and remove the plugs behind the gauges. The hot wire on your glow gauges (red) needs to be spliced to the illuminating wire(not sure what color it is. Maybe brown with a green stripe). If you don’t know what color it is, just follow the diagram on the back of the gauge cluster that says the illuminating lights. This is the wire to splice into on the wire plug. The ground will just need to be connected the black wire. That one’s easy to find. Screw the inverter underneath the steering wheel. This controls the color dimming and brightness. This will not affect the stock dimmer, it will all be connected to together when you splice it in the illuminating wire, but the inverter will control the color density. Reconnect the battery ground and start the car up to make sure none of the needles moved or are out of alignment. If you need to remove the needles, use 2 fingers on each side and apply equal pressure to pull on each needle until it pops off. It will feel like you’re going to break it, but it won’t. Put everything back together and you are set.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
425 Posts
Ebay. If you can't find it, it will eventually show up. Just save it as a favorite search and have an alert set up to go to your phone, so you'll get a text msg and know when it's available.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
486 Posts
This seems to be a pretty popular question. I have to take mine back out and super glue them since i didnt the first. I think I am going to take lots of pics and do a write up for the mods section. That way we can just refer people there and save some bandwith.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,619 Posts
Originally posted by Firespirit@Jun 1 2004, 10:16 PM
Well, I just got some white face gauges today but i have no clue how to get the cluster out! Do I just yank on the black surrounding the cluster? I know there are 4 screws holding the cluster in... help!!!
no, its not that easy. you gotta take the whole dash apart. go buy a haynes or chiltons manual and it will tell you exactly what to do to take the dash apart. there are a lot of steps. its a very long procedure. took me over an hour just to get them back out of my car.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
425 Posts
Originally posted by Firespirit@Jun 2 2004, 03:13 AM
Well, my haynes manual says to take out the radio.... I was trying to do that... when all of a sudden my radio decides to be stubborn and NOT come out... :( Maybe I'll get it today.
You have a 97. You don't need to remove your entire dash including your stereo. Just remove the gauge pod. There are 2 screws. Undo them and pull from the bottom part of the guage pod out.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
425 Posts
Originally posted by Firespirit@Jun 2 2004, 01:23 PM
Are you sure? Because according to the book... it says there are 4 screws holding the cluster in, and I don't wanna be breaking my sh!t.

Plus, a lot of people say that I need to take out the radio, then all the trim clips to get to the cluster..
You don't need to trim anything. And the screws holding the cluster is nothing. It will pull right out once you unscrew it. There will be 2 plugs in the back of the gauge cluster..unplug them to remove the entire cluster.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,090 Posts
Originally posted by mykej27+Jun 2 2004, 12:41 PM--><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (mykej27 @ Jun 2 2004, 12:41 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Firespirit@Jun 2 2004, 03:13 AM
Well, my haynes manual says to take out the radio.... I was trying to do that... when all of a sudden my radio decides to be stubborn and NOT come out... :( Maybe I'll get it today.
You have a 97. You don't need to remove your entire dash including your stereo. Just remove the gauge pod. There are 2 screws. Undo them and pull from the bottom part of the guage pod out. [/b][/quote]
on column shift models you have to remove alot of the dash as well as the radio. YEar has nothing to do with it. It is about 20times easier on a floor shift.

Brad
 
1 - 20 of 58 Posts
Top