Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Update: So i guess there is another trans mount on the passenger side. if the driver side one's this bad probably the other one is too. where can i find it? does it look the same?

thanks.

---

This is taken on my left wheel (there isn't one on my right). Just wondering what that part is. Does it look badly damaged?

1999 Ford Taurus SE Wagon Vulcan V6

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,101 Posts
I must say the highlighted item in the picture should be the transmission mount and by the looks of it might need to be replace as soon as possible since it looks really bad.

·
Premium Member
1,101 Posts
Is it a fairly easy DIY type of job?
Well I'm not a mechanic what so ever however it looks as other had mentioned that might be easy enough to remove the mount by raising up the transmission in the bottom and unbolt everything.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 · (Edited)
So i guess there is another trans mount on the passenger side. if the driver side one's this bad probably the other one is too. where can i find it? does it look the same?

thanks.

·
Registered
211 Posts
So i guess there is another trans mount on the passenger side. if the driver side one's this bad probably the other one is too. where can i find it? does it look the same?

thanks.
There is engine mounts on that side but i dont think there is trans mounts on passenger side because it mounts up on the drivers side to the trans mission? what does the mount on that side look like?

also i hear ya bout bad mounts. Esp if you live in cold weather jsut have a mechanic do it where he can hold engine trans up with lift and slide out that mount. if its rusted in there its gonna be a biznatch to get off. just have some pb blaster and free time if that happens. lol

·
Premium Member
1,300 Posts
Transmission is on the left side of the engine compartment.