Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a 2004 Taurus SES with the 24 valve engine. The car is a one owner company fleet vehicle. It was one of 30 used by a local company to call on out of town accounts. Most all of its' 118,000 miles were earned on the highway. It had regular servicing and has most all of the maintenance records to support that. The over all condition of the car is super clean. It really looks almost new.

One of my best friends has owned Tauruses and Sables for years. He really abuses his and claims they are nearly bullet proof. He usually kills his with over 300,000 miles on them. He says my 118,000 miles is nothing. On the other hand, my Honda/BMW driving friends roll their eyes at me and my Taurus. They say the Taurus is probably about clapped out with that kind of miles on it and I will regret my purchase.

I am a former Honda driver myself. Just couldn't bring myself to pay $20,000 plus for a new one again when this sweet little Ford was available for just $3900. :wub:

What do you all think? What is high mileage to you? What kind of trouble have I gotten myself into?

·
Premium Member
10,632 Posts
High mileage is just about 500,000 for me. :lol:

I recently sold my '92 SHO with 204K miles on it. Owner still has it, still running just fine. I'm confident that the car will make it past 300K. My '97 Taurus has 138K miles on it and I have no doubt it will see 300K...

At 118K miles, your Taurus is just in it's prime! I'd look for many more service miles from your ride.

Your BMW/Honda friends are just jealous ;)

·
Premium Member
17,415 Posts
Long as you take care of it and maintain it...I bet you'll have no problem going 250K. You'll occasionally see Tauruses on eBay or other auction sites with nearly 300K miles (the ones that didn't rust away). Quite an accomplishment for any vehicle...

·
Registered
2,492 Posts