Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been searching the TCCA site and surfing the web looking for the aparently non-existant LSD for the 3rd Gen. I have a 1999 3.0L Vulcan so I thought I could find a Probe LSD that would work, however that search failed. Can a quaife be modified, or can an LSD be custom built?

Just so you know I'm just bsing the possibilities for the future, possibly looking into the Morana V6 Racing Stroker Motor. If anyone has an opinion on that swap I'd appreciate it also. The install shouldn't be an issue as my buddies and I have done a few engine installs on other cars, but the "experianced tuner" warning on their site scared me about reliability issues. The car would be a daily driver, but few miles (I'm a student at KSU and live in STL so the 400 mi. drive 4 times a year is the most drastic or lengthy driving I'd persue).

If anyone has tranny, Stroker, or LSD options please post!

--KC

·
Premium Member
2,090 Posts
There is no LSD avalible for either tranny that came woth the taurus. Sonce you have a vulcan, you most likely have an ax4s. Currently "kermit" on the boards here is having an LSD retrofitted into an ax4n. as for the type of LSD and how its being done, no one knows, including myslef. Im guessing it will be somthing close to a phantom grip (junk), but for his sake i hope not. Brad at shofast is doing this conversion, so he may be the guy you would like to speak with.

As for the other stuff, good luck! I hope you catually accomplish your project, as alot of people are all talk.

Brad

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3