Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this on another board, but got no takers. I think it should be here instead.

I tried searching for topics on this, but maybe I just suck at doing searches.
Anyhow, the volume control on my Factory 2006 Taurus radio all of a sudden stops working and then sometimes it starts working.
I had similar issues with the volume control on my 2001 Taurus, but not this bad.
Has anyone had the same experience?
Is this common on factory Ford Taurus cars?
And more importantly, how can I resolve this myself?

Thanks everyone.

Craig
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,307 Posts
Had that problem with an 02 model.
Found no way to fix it.
Got a replacement from the JY.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
My wife's 2003 SES is doing something similar. When you turn the volume knob the volume kind of skips up and down as the knob rotates.

  • What do you need to remove the radio?
  • Are there any in dash changers available that will swap with the single disk that came with it?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,090 Posts
You need the DIN tools that take out Ford radios. Check ebay or your local car audio shop. Also, I once saw on a Continental a CD changer that was mounted in a small extension/enclosure of the dash/console. (Under the bottom of the standard dash, extending to the floor, with the magazine removable on the passenger side I think.) If you could find one of those, it might be worth the trouble of installing it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
On the OEM head units, does anyone know what years are a direct replacement?

Say is a 2004-2006 interchangable with the 2003 radio?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,307 Posts
04-07 models come with the built in airbag light.
01-03 does not have the light. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
04-07 models come with the built in airbag light.
01-03 does not have the light. :)
So that means 04-07 are not interchangable. Easy enough, they have radios on ebay for a reasonable price.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,307 Posts
The radio in the dash isn't the problem with the quality of sound.
It's the amp in the trunk. It's only 12 watts.
The mach amp makes a big difference!! It's 80 watts. :)
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top