Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
No vacuum leaks. I've replaced IACV and PCV. Cleaned the manifold (Seafoam), entire throttle body.

The cold idle became a lot worse over the last few days. Starts up at 1500rpm, jumps up to 1800, drops to 1400, back up 1500 etc until it drops down to 1000rpm and even then it bounces 100-300 rpm until warm.
So to the point. I'm going to order the intake manifold gaskets via RockAuto but there's three choices. I've never done this before so should I get the most expensive (includes everything)? They all show the same thing. Should I also replace the EGR gaskets? I believe I have to remove that to remove the manifold.
TIA

·
Owner of #RaceSable
2,398 Posts
FelPro, that is all. I plan getting some for their gaskets for my Sable. Even Sam used FelPro gaskets when he did the intake gaskets on his old 2000 Sable.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Felpro are the way to go and yes replace the EGR gaskets as well. It's good insurance and you'll need to pull it off anyway to get to the UIM/LIM.

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I just bought a 2004 Sable with the same 'Tec engine and it's in less than favorable shape. It is 10x quicker than mine. After driving mine again, it feels like a Vulcan motor.
When I get in the Sable and use the throttle like I do in my Taurus, I get pushed back in the seat.

I just want to make sure that the intake gaskets is a likely cause...I've replaced the PCV and IACV with Motorcraft, and cleaned the throttle body many times. I scanned it too even when cold starting, nothing came up.

After replacing the plugs back in March, the car felt a lot quicker and got better MPG. The intake gaskets weren't replaced. Shortly after that, it started cranking longer in the cold and idling bad when cold, and became a bit sluggish.
I don't have $300 to throw at it if it won't help, but it sounds like the culprit.