Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I pass at wide open throttle on the highway I'm noticing that sometimes it'll neutral out (high RPMs with no power). I'll let off it, and it'll grab. It doesn't do this if I give it some acceleration and just drop down to 3rd gear but if I floor it and it jumps down to 2nd, it'll neutral out. This is the only weirdness I'm having with my trans (98 Vulcan). Any ideas what could cause this?

·
Premium Member
62 Posts
It almost sounds like the transmission is slipping out of gear. I'm not sure what would cause this, unless maybe a gear is screwed up and it misses the notch. I know this was common way back in the day, but I'm fairly new to newer cars, so I cant confirm this.

·
Super Moderator
8,722 Posts
Have you checked fluid level properly (Fluid @ operating temp, level surface, shifter in each gear for several seconds, then into park before checking)? Low fluid level can cause this problem as fluid flows to the rear of the pan under hard acceleration.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Have you checked fluid level properly (Fluid @ operating temp, level surface, shifter in each gear for several seconds, then into park before checking)? Low fluid level can cause this problem as fluid flows to the rear of the pan under hard acceleration.
Just got to checking and it looks around a quart over full. I'm doubting this is the problem but never know!

I can totally see what you're saying about low fluid. That makes complete sense as far as the clutches not getting pressure due to acceleration moving the fluid back where it wouldn't be picked up.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Could the pump in the trans be constricted at high rpms because of the extra fluid? Something like cavitation, only the opposite? This is just a guess.:dunno: