Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The CEL on my 2004 Taurus (35k miles) came on a few days back. I went to Check Auto parts and they retrieved "P0403 - Exhaust Gas Recirculation Control Circuit". The guy said EGR valve would have to be replaced. Went to Advance Auto Parts for a second opinion. They retrieved the same code, but said the EGR solenoid will have to be replaed. I am no car expert but I started reading about EGR problems here, and figured a cleanup of the valve might be the first thing to try. I got that done by a local mechanic. But the code came back. Are there any tests I could perform on the solenoid to make sure it is busted? I also read that most of the times, it is the DPFE that thorws EGR rlated code. Is it possible it could be the DPFE when the code points to the solenoid?

Many thanks.

·
Registered
712 Posts
QUOTE (taurus_04_35k @ Apr 22 2009, 03:49 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=719660
The CEL on my 2004 Taurus (35k miles) came on a few days back. I went to Check Auto parts and they retrieved "P0403 - Exhaust Gas Recirculation Control Circuit". The guy said EGR valve would have to be replaced. Went to Advance Auto Parts for a second opinion. They retrieved the same code, but said the EGR solenoid will have to be replaed. I am no car expert but I started reading about EGR problems here, and figured a cleanup of the valve might be the first thing to try. I got that done by a local mechanic. But the code came back. Are there any tests I could perform on the solenoid to make sure it is busted? I also read that most of the times, it is the DPFE that thorws EGR rlated code. Is it possible it could be the DPFE when the code points to the solenoid?

Many thanks.[/b]
From the '02-'03 manual it states the below possible causes for P0403:

-Vacuum supply
-EGR valve stuck closed
-EGR valve leaks vacuum
-EGR flow path restricted
-EGRVR circuit shorted to PWR