Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time to post and I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question; I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm in the wrong place.

2003 Taurus SES. I have done regular 3 month oil changes with Castrol 5W30 synthetic blend and Motocraft filter since purchasing the car in 2004 with 9000 miles on it. Now at 48,000+ miles I'm considering switching to either Castrol Synthec 5W30 or Motocraft Synthecic Blend 5W30. Is switching to a different oil going to do harm to the engine? Live and drive in Texas.

ldon

·
Registered
191 Posts
Seeing that you live in Texas, you should be able to safely run 10w-30 or even 10w-40 oil. Personally I think that synthetic blend is a waste of money. Either use full synthetic oil or use regular mineral oil. And I don't think that you should have any problems if you switch to full synthetic oil. But just to be sure, monitor your oil level. Also, changing oil every 3 month is a waste of oil and money. You should change your oil every six month or 5,000km. Just be sure to use Motorcraft filter and not Fram. Myself, I run synthetic for 10,000 km.

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
I suggest Mobil 1, Walmart sells it in 5qt jugs for around $24, or $28 for the extened life. I stick with 5w30 M1 extended life year round, unless they're out of 5w30 during the summer, I'll use 10w30. I wouldn't go with the 40 weight unless your having problems with blow-by. Full synthetic is much better than a blend, and the extended life synthetic is good for over 8k in miles. I change mine every 6-8k, even though I don't need to that often.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Just use Motorcraft filter with the cheapest oil you can find, and change oil every 6000 miles. This is the formula I have been following on my 00 Tec, no engine problem whatsoever in almost 11 years and over 170K miles (knock on wood).