Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you have problems staying awake on long trips, try eating sunflower seeds. It gives you something to do while driving and helps maintain your alertness.

Just remember to bring a spit cup. If you try to spit them out the window they will be all over the inside of your car.

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My bad!

Can you move it? edited Nevermind. Already moved. (See what happens when you fall asleep at lunch)

B

·
0 Posts
I use coffee and no-doz. No spitting involved.

Of course, when I get to my destination, I'm a little wired.

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
That works for some, but I still get bored with my own thoughts. If I'm not doing something, I keep getting into arguments with myself.

A

·
0 Posts
I'm not very good at staying alert on long trips. I get distracted quite easily. (oooh something shiny!
) But for staying awake, I find that sitting up straight and playing music really loud help quite a bit.

·
Registered
57 Posts
A long time ago (late teens) I was driving down I-95 from New York to Florida with 2 of my friends that didn't have their licenses and I didn't want them driving my GTO anyway. I was getting sleepy around 3 in the morning behind the wheel somewhere in North Carolina, stopped for a cup of coffee that must have been decaf. About half hour later I woke up doing 70 in the median heading for a concrete abutment about 500 feet in front of me. I nearly peed my pants, the adrenaline rush kept me straight for the next 12 hours without a hitch. I don't recommend it for everyone, though. In retrospect, I probably should have bought a couple more 8-track tapes with me.

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I'll stickwith my seeds.

·
Premium Member
10,022 Posts
Originally posted by Bob Gervais@Feb 25 2004, 12:03 PM
I use coffee and no-doz. No spitting involved.