Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so now i've got to run my amp power cable from the battery to the back of the car. i've never done this before, and it appears i'm not gonna have any irl help from any experienced friends.

would it be easiest to use a battery relocation kit to move the battery to the back of the car, and just hook up the wire from there? that seems like it would be the easiest, because then the only wire i have to run from front to back would be the battery wire. that way i could hook up both the power for the amp and the power inverter that will power my computer up front.

either way, i don't have a clue as to how to run the cable from the battery (say i kept it up front), from under the hood into the cabin area. i guess i could go through the firewall, but how? make a hole? how?

ps
also, removing the battery from the front would give me more room for possible other projects ;););)

·
Premium Member
2,090 Posts
make a hole ot se the one above the fues box (hard to find)

Safer and easier to leave the battery where it is.

Brad

·
Registered
324 Posts
If you put the battery in the front or back you will still have to run one power wire. If the battery is in the front thwn you have to run a wire from the battery to the amp. If the battery is in the back you have to run wires back to the power distribution fuse box and the alternator in the fron. I think. It would be like doing the more work for the same thing to put the battery in the back, unless you have other reasons for moving it too.

·
Premium Member
2,035 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by spy2520@Aug 14 2004, 04:06 PM