Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to this post. i have had my '96 sable ls for 2 years and i dont have any complaints on it!!! i just have a question about rims. i was wondering if 18x8s would fit and what all i would have to do to make them fit if they dont? also if they do what tires would you all suggest? Thanks! Matt

·
Registered
423 Posts
Yes they will fit. For an 8" wide wheel you'd want the offset to be right at 38mm. I have 235/45's on my 18's, but you could also go with 225/45's.

Hope this helps.

BTW, welcome to the club!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks man i am looking at rims that on the site have a off set of +21, +42 and back spacing of 5.33 what ever this all means i dont know rims and all so i can really use the help. with the suggestion you gave you dont have any rubbin or anything? thanks again

·
Premium Member
2,090 Posts
Stock offset is 40mm, 42mm is acceptable, but if your going with 8" wide tires, you will want a 38 like sugested....i have a 35mm offset and they may still rub, not sure till i mount em this week.

Brad

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ok thanks so basically those rims are a no go then?? any suggestions on some nice rims that would look nice on a dark red sable? 17 or 18s perferably

Matt

·
Premium Member
10,632 Posts
Originally posted by Matt22Hawk@Apr 11 2004, 09:44 PM
ok thanks so basically those rims are a no go then?? any suggestions on some nice rims that would look nice on a dark red sable? 17 or 18s perferably

Matt
Well, I don't know exactly what you'd want.. but I think on the T-red Sable/Taurus it should be chrome with 5 spokes
hell yea.

I've got a Toradore Red Taurus (now) with SHO wheels.

Oh, and welcome to the club!

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #7