Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm a new Taurus owner. This is also my first car :D . I got it because it had a lot of room. I didn't think you could make so many different mods to it. I already took off my Intake Silencer, and have a performance air filter on the way. Now I want to take off my Exhaust Resonator, and I was wondering if anyone knew the dimensions of the resonator? I'm looking to get a Dynomax Thrush Glass Pack Muffler, Probably from Pep Boys. What size is recommended? I would just measure it all myself, but I'm a busy student. Any Info would be much appreciated. Thanks all.

(1999 Taurus SE 3.0L OHV)

·
Registered
23 Posts
Cut my resonator out about a week ago. Its a hair short of three feet, so get 36" of 2" straight pipe, its easy to do and i love the way mine sounds with out the resonator.

36"x2"

·
Premium Member
15,578 Posts
From what I've heard about our cars, if you want to have an aftermarket muffler (flowmaster, magnaflow), you're going to want to keep a resonator on there, since it doesn't impede the flow of exhaust and will keep the exhaust note from sounding raspy. I'm putting dual flowmaster 40s on my Sable, and I'm definitely keeping the resonator in there...

JR

·
Premium Member
821 Posts
Originally posted by godspunk32@Jun 30 2004, 07:16 AM
From what I've heard about our cars, if you want to have an aftermarket muffler (flowmaster, magnaflow), you're going to want to keep a resonator on there, since it doesn't impede the flow of exhaust and will keep the exhaust note from sounding raspy. I'm putting dual flowmaster 40s on my Sable, and I'm definitely keeping the resonator in there...

JR