Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
IAC Valve

This is my first time on the forum and need some feedback. When my Father passed away I got his Taurus. He lived in Illinois and I had to drive it back to AZ. Since that trip I have found/repaired many things but a few have me stumped. I can fix motorcycles but cars are a different animal and I have over 164,000 miles on it and I decided that I needed to change spark plugs and wires as my 6th cylinder was missing. I did this, then noted that my thermastat should be changed and so I did this also. The car ran BEAUTIFULLY for about 30 miles and then started to hesitate and sort of gasp for air when I re-started her or tried to shift into gear. I went and had it hooked up to a meter and it reads "Troubleshooting P1507 IAC -underspeed error- ECM has detected an engine speed less than desired" Engine vacuum leak, failed IAC valve, open or shortened electrical condition or air inlet is plugged. A man told me "little girl, you need to replace the IAC valve" and so I went to a parts store and purchased one. It says that I need to torque it 71-102 pounds, and what I want to know is do I HAVE to buy a torque wrench for this or can I just gauge it? Is it TOTALLY necessary to use a torque wrench or can I use a standard wrench? Also, is a P1504 & P1507 reading basically the same thing? And why do they call it a valve when it doesn't exactly look like a valve? I won't need any sealant for the gasket will I? I didn't read anything about that in the instructions or in my chiltons manual. Any advice given will be greatly appreciated. I have put so much work into and still have more to go. Also, I have to wait a few weeks to replace my head gasket. It is not leaking at this time but it was recommended by the dealer. Can I run Thermagasket through until I can get to the replacement? :)

·
Premium Member
271 Posts