Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
want to replace rear brake pads and rotors on my 2004 wagon; this is a big job for me but they want an arm and a leg to do it at the shops - i've never done brakes before. I watched my front ones done recently and I've reviewed wiki and some forum posts and reviewed my shop manual.

Quests:
1) many types of lubes and things are recommended in various places: caliper grease, antiseize on bolts, brake cleaner on various items, pb blaster or crc 656 to loosen bolts; etc... what is adviseable really for me to prepurchase in case i need it and how would i use it?
2) there is mention of a special tool for the caliper (on rear taurus with pads) that is required beyond just a c clamp - can anyone elaborate? is it used only on the rear - i do not remember any tool used on front - even not a c clamp.
3) some places say to remove brake fluid reservoir cap; some don't. some say bleed, some don't - what is adviseable?
4) i do not already own a torque wrench; do i really need to use a torque wrench for replacement of caliper?
5) any other hints/ideas

Thanks so much !!!

·
Premium Member
5,895 Posts
1) many types of lubes and things are recommended in various places: caliper grease, antiseize on bolts, brake cleaner on various items, pb blaster or crc 656 to loosen bolts; etc... what is adviseable really for me to prepurchase in case i need it and how would i use it?
For slider pins, use only proper brake lubricant, do not use anti-seize to lubericate the sliders. You can use anti-seize on the caliper bolt and caliper bracket bolts. Also putting anti-seize on the hub only, not the wheel studs will facilitate future removal of the rotor. You may need a hammer to give the old on a crack or two to free it up. Not always, but sometimes they stick.