Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right well as you've probably noticed, I'm new here and I don't actually own a Taurus. However, my friend needs help replacing the radiator on his. I'm no stranger to automotive work--I do all my own work on my '72 Volkswagen Super Beetle and as much work as I can on my '09 VW GTI. But considering most of my mechanical experience lies with the air-cooled VW, I have never done any radiator work before nor have I ever worked on a Taurus. Is there a good step-by step guide somewhere that can help us replace the radiator, and are there any special tools that I will need? I seem to recall reading something about transmission lines and needing a tool for those but I could be wrong.

Please reply quickly as we want to start work as soon as possible :)

Thanks!

Clark

·
Super Moderator
8,623 Posts
There might be a guide on here.... I forget. Check the topic finder.

FYI, the radiator comes out the bottom.

·
Premium Member
1,018 Posts
If this is your 1st Taurus/Sable radiator remove-replacement it will take you 4 to 6 hours.

Tips:
You'll need 21" of ground clearance as the radiator is removed from the bottom. I used car ramps to get this clearance.

Buy a 3/8" quick disconnect tool to remove the transmission lines. There is about a 1" hole near the headlamps to remove the upper radiator bolts.

Other than that its pretty much a straight forward job of removing bolts and making notes where they came from. If the radiator has been in there a while like mine a lot of dirt will be removed as well. The radiator removal is a dirty, nasty job. You've got dirt, tranny fluid, oil and tranny fluid to deal with.

I got a new radiator from Performance Radiator last December. I've been very happy with it so far. It's brought my temps back to normal again. :)

Monsoon

·
Premium Member
2003 Ford taurus Centennial Edition
1,405 Posts