Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, Yellow Service Engine Soon light came on the other day. Today I went to autozone and had them read the codes.

They printed out the foillowing.

P1131

lack of bank 1 02 transitions - lean
explanation
detected bank 1 02 at its lean limit
probable cause
1.misfire on bank 1
2.vacuum leak affecting bank 1 only
3.fuel injector problem bank 1
4.engine mechanical condition

P0401

system fault (exhaust gas recirculation)
explanation
the ecm has detected too little flow on the egr system
possible cause
1.blocked passage on egr system
2.failed egr valve
3.egr solenoid faulty
4.failed egr pressure sensor where applicable
5.failed egr pressure sensor where applicable

I would like to avoid taking my car to a shop to save money. However, I am a complete car newbie.

Would love some feedback, suggestions. If possible can you supply pictures on where I can locate the item in the car.

My Car is a 1999 For Tauras...........

-Gerrit

·
Premium Member
14,356 Posts
Take your EGR valve off and see if it's all carboned up. If it is, clean it, install a new gasket, clear codes and see if it comes back.

·
Super Moderator
8,590 Posts
Do you have a Vulcan or a Tec? If you have a Tec with the metal intake manifold, remove TB and see if the EGR passage is plugged up. If it is, clean it completely, which can take a while. This is a very common problem. As noted above, also remove and check EGR valve for carboned up. If those check out, most likely cause is a failed DPFE.

1131 is either a failed O2 sensor on bank 1 or a harness / connector problem. If harness is OK (no run thru, etc) and connector is connected and clean (not corroded), I would replace the O2.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·