Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all. I have a 2005 Taurus SEL with the 24v Duratec. I recently changed the spark plugs, air filter, fuel filter, trans fluid and filter at the same time. These are all jobs I've previously done on this car with no problems. I'm no mechanic, but I'm not a newb either.

After performing the above the car drove just fine the first time I took it out. The second time I cranked it, it initially hunted for an idle (bounced between 500-1300 rpm) and bogged down from a red light one time and barely moved. Then the third/last time I've driven it, it again hunted for an idle. It also bogged down trying to accelerate again and ultimately died. I was able to limp it back roughly a block back to my house.

Now it threw a CEL and gave me the codes:
P0171 System too Lean (Bank 1)
P0174 System too Lean (Bank 2)
P0183 Fuel Temperature Sensor A Circuit High Input
P0193 Fuel Rail Pressure Sensor Circuit High Input

I double checked and all vacuum hoses which were disconnected to take the upper intake off are all snuggly reconnected. I can't find an other broken/cracked hoses either. If I only had the P0171 & P0174 I would be sure I had a vacuum leak. But the P0183 & P0193 are making me think I might have a bad fuel pressure sensor which is also causing the too lean condition. The timing is suspect that everything was fine until I changed the plugs, but the P0183 & P0193 make me thing it's the sensor.

Any thoughts?

Thanks again.

·
Super Moderator
7,829 Posts
Check the electrical plug on the FPTS to be sure it is properly connected and no corrosion / damaged pins in the connector. Also trace the FPTS harness to be sure it wasnt pinched / damaged during the UIM removal / installation.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #3