Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Take the TR sensor out and see if the ax going in the transmission is moving free or is engaging someting inside.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Take the TR sensor out and see if the ax going in the transmission is moving free or is engaging someting inside.
I have the sensor's bolts loose...is that metal bit going to retain its position through the sensor? I am new at this, but should I mark where the rectangular metal bit below the threading is somehow before removing the sensor as a whole?

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Put the handle on "N" before so you can alingn it back.

·
Super Moderator
8,591 Posts
I dont think you have an electrical problem. Check tranny fluid level with engine off. Start engine and check level again. Did level drop significantly? If no, either the pump driveshaft has snapped or the pump has failed. COuld also be the torque converter has failed. Reverse is 100% mechanically controlled. If reverse doesnt work (assuming the shifter cable is working correctly) you have an internal trans problem that will require repair. Snapped pump shaft can be fixed with tranny in the car.

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Is that square metal ax moving easy or is not moving (should not be easy to rotate)?
My sensor was bad and didn's send correct reading into the PCM. You can read the actual values for the resistance.
I need to find that specific post with the values between pins 4 and 5...
I think was like 3000 ohms in "P", 1500 ohms in "R" and going down so on the rest of positions. Moving that sensor by hand you can feel the positions. Picture below shows the alignment points for putting it back on "N".

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Is that square metal ax moving easy or is not moving (should not be easy to rotate)?
My sensor was bad and didn's send correct reading into the PCM. You can read the actual values for the resistance.