Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few months ago I purchased my 04 Bull- SES w/Duratec.... I like the car but on the E-Way it has alot of body roll. Started looking on here about rear sway bars and found another person who was adding some to the rear of his car. So today I went to Parts Galore (U Pull It JY) and just started looking around at Taurii from 96-03 models (I looked at several) and they all had rear sway bars. I go out to my nice shiny newer low mileage Bull and look- NO SWAY BAR!!!! WTH is this about :angryfire: Why would Ford just stop putting them on the Gen 4.5, I'm just assuming that is what happened! Is my assumption correct? A rear sway bar doesn't seem like it should be on an option list.... I am really irritated by this! Can someone enlighten me as I am new to owning a Ford!

·
Registered
50 Posts
That doesn't make any sense. Why would Ford do that?! :huh:

Or do you think it might of been removed by the previous owner?

·
Registered
833 Posts
One less thing for them to spend to money on while charging the same amount for the car. I snagged one out of a 99 that'll go in whenever I install new rear struts. And no, you can't just put one in without changing the struts bc there is no mounting tab on your current struts. Sure, you could weld tabs on, but that's just a horrible idea.

No Seth, it wasn't removed, it was just never there. I believe 03 was the last year of the rear sway bar, iirc, the same year they changed the springs to the non-rust-break-poptire type.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
QUOTE (goodbrosUIT @ Jun 4 2010, 01:21 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=809298