Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been searching and searching- haven't found an answer and I need help!
I bought this car used and not running so I took my chances. I am a good mechanic but this thing has got me stumped!
Symptoms:
Missing at idle- running rich and very ruff at idle.DPFE hoses were blown off and egr pipe was broken. Replaced plugs, rear cat,DPFE and egr valve. There is enough pressure coming thru the EGR pipe to slightly open the egr valve with the hose unplugged. (the pipe going into intake manifold gets hot!) If you blow into top of egr valve it closes and runs a little better.
I disconnected the exhaust to eliminate back pressure- it still seems to have too much pressure coming out of rear cat that is new.
Did compression test- all seems good there.

Trouble codes P2195,P2196,P2198

Freeze frame:

STFTRM1 33.5%
LTFTRM1 0
STFTRM 2 33.5%
LTFTRM2 0

CMDEQ .999
O2S11 .105V
STFTRM11 34.3%
O2S12 .010v
STFTRM12 99% (???)
O2S21 .935v
STFTRM21 34.3%
O2S22 .140V
STFTRM22 99.2%

Sorry for length of post but I am stumped and confused!
Any clues???

·
Premium Member
1,018 Posts
This might be old school but put a vacuum gauge on the engine and see what happens for readings.

EGR system - no egr valve should be open at idle, verify this is closed and gradually opens off idle. Verify the routing of the tubing to and from the EGR valve is correct as well. Actually, I would get a diagram of the EGR system and double check all the hoses are correctly connected/routed. If the EGR valve hangs open at idle it will run rough. Verify you have no vacuum leaks using the vacuum gauge.

If the car is running rich the only things that I know that could cause this is a bad MAF sensor and/or bad O2 sensors. Of course I'm assuming the PCM has no defects either.