Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2,972 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2002 Vulcan SES Sedan

I need new struts on the rear of this car and I'd like to go ahead and do the upper mounts while I'm at it. I happen already to have a set of new coil springs. I'm trying to decide whether to go with Monroe Quick Struts or to buy a new strut assembly and mount and a spring compressor tool.

I'm totally new to strut work, so can you help me with the part numbers so I can make a comparison?

As far as I can tell:

The complete Quick Strut is 171616 ($107.79 on RockAuto)
The Sensa Trac strut assembly alone is simply 71616 ($49.79).

But I can't figure out what I'd need for the mount. Rock Auto has Monroe part 901954 for $11.66 notated as "Wholesaler Closeout - Private Label Package" or for $21.79 as "Regular Inventory."

So does this mean, if I already have the springs, I can change the struts for just $49.79 + $11.66 = $61.45 each? (Plus the spring compressor I'll probably buy.)

Is there anything else I need? And do I have compatible parts listed above?

Oh, and I saw there was a $60 off 2 or $150 off 4 Quick Struts rebate in May, but it's looking like that's dead. Anybody know otherwise?

Thank you!!

·
Registered
3,748 Posts
MONROE Part # 901954 are rear strut mounts.
MONROE Part # 902944 priced at $32.79 are for the front.

·
Registered
3,748 Posts
QUOTE (sfontain @ Jun 5 2010, 11:46 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=809573
The complete Quick Strut is 171616 ($107.79 on RockAuto)
The Sensa Trac strut assembly alone is simply 71616 ($49.79).

But I can't figure out what I'd need for the mount. Rock Auto has Monroe part 901954 for $11.66 notated as "Wholesaler Closeout - Private Label Package" or for $21.79 as "Regular Inventory."

So does this mean, if I already have the springs, I can change the struts for just $49.79 + $11.66 = $61.45 each? (Plus the spring compressor I'll probably buy.)