Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I left home this morning and drove about two hundred miles. I went to pass a car and at about 80 it started nosing over like it was starved for fuel. I have a new fuel filter at home I keep forgetting to put on when I am under there. Anyway I took it to the Local Ford Dealer and tell them to put a new fuel filter on. $73.00 later I pull out and the check engine light comes one.

Pulled into an Autozone and had codes read.
P0191
Fuel rail pressure circuit
range/perf

P1237
Fuel Pump Seconday circuit Malfunction

I got back on the road and ran it and even had it up to about 95 and everything was ok.

I would normally start reading my Haynes manual and load up my service Cd.
Then I would start surfing to try and figure this outbut I am 350 miles from home and on AOL dialup at about 11Kps.

Does this sound like a fuel pump or pressure regulator going bad?
I will check back later after dinner any help would be apprciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
222 Posts
this is a crazy guess, but if the ford dealer disconnected the fuel pump circuit then started the engine to bleed done the fuel pressure to change the filter this may have caused both codes. did you clear the codes at auto zone and if so did the codes come back? I would call the dealer that you had the service done and asked them if they may have caused the codes.
 
G

·
Found this one... more coming...

DTC

P0191 - Fuel Rail
Pressure Sensor
Circuit Performance

(FRP)

Description

The comprehensive
component monitor
(CCM) monitors the FRP
pressure for
acceptable fuel
pressure. The test
fails when the fuel
pressure falls below
or exceeds a minimum
/maximum calibrated
value for a calibrated
period of time.

Causes

High fuel pressure.
Low fuel pressure.
Damaged FRP sensor.
Excessive
resistance in
circuit.
Low or no fuel.

Diagnostic Aides

A FRP PID value during
KOER of 138 kpa (20
psi) and 413 kpa (60
psi) for gasoline or
586 kpa (85 psi) and
725 kpa (105 psi) for
natural gas vehicles
(NG) is acceptable.
 
G

·
DTC

P1237 - Fuel Pump
Secondary Circuit
Malfunction

Description

Note: For LS6/LS8, the
FPDM functions are
incorporated in the
rear electronics
module (REM). Also,
the REM does not use a
FPM circuit.
Diagnostic information
will be set through
SCP. Indicates that
the FPDM has detected
a fuel pump secondary
circuit fault. The
FPDM will send a
message to the PCM
through the FPM
circuit, indicating
that this failure has
been detected. The PCM
will set the DTC when
the message is
received.

Possible Causes

Open or shorted FP
PWR circuit
Open FP RTN circuit
to FPDM
Open or shorted
circuit in the fuel
pump
Locked fuel pump
rotor
Damaged FPDM
For LS6/LS8,
circuits associated
with the Fuel Pump
relay

Diagnostic Aides

The FPDM sends a
75% duty cycle (750
msec ON, 250 msec
OFF) through the
FPM circuit to the
PCM while the fault
is being detected
by the FPDM. If the
fault is no longer
detected, the PCM
will return to
sending an "all OK"
(50% duty cycle)
message to the PCM.
The PCM will keep
P1237 stored in
Continuous Memory.
The FPDM controls
pump speed by
supplying a
"variable" ground
on the RTN circuit.

Hope these help
 
G

·
Sounds to me like what was posted earlier. The dealer pulled the fuse for the pump to releive the pressure, and it set those codes. Since the car's running fine, disconnect the battery to reset the computer, and see if the codes come back. If you get in a bind, let me know, I'll overnight you my code scanner. Nothing sucks worse than being away from home without a way to get the codes.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I appreciate the help. I figured that since it is running ok and the code didn't come on until after they shut the fuel pump off that it was probably nothing to worry about. But of course cars never break down within 5 miles from home

The Autozone Kid told me it was a felony for him to clear the codes. When he said that I had two choices, Pinch his head off as to not contaminate the gene pool anymore or say thank you and go on about my business. I chose the latter.

I saw the service ticket they wrote and they charged me $21.44 for the filter and
the labor was supposed to be .8 hrs at $50.00 per.

The Hateful cashier charged me $81.62 and I gave her the credit card and finally a light in my head popped on and said .8x50 equals $40.00 and asked her where the discrepency was, she looked at me like I had just gutted the easter bunny.
She finally refigured it and the total came to $71.72 They charge 10% of labor for their misc shop supplies.

It really bothers me to let someone I don't know work on my car and I could kick myself in the a** for not changing the fuel filter the dozen times I have had the car on jacks messing with the suspension.

THANKS FOR THE HELP

Mike
 
G

·
Originally posted by mwt@Apr 14 2004, 09:54 PM
Pinch his head off as to not contaminate the gene pool anymore
Hehehe..... must be an Autozone thing, they're the same here. Stupidity knows no boundaries!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
It is strange that relieving fuel pressure causes those codes. I have replaced my filter 2 times within 4 years now and haven't seen any code in PCM.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
712 Posts
Originally posted by FullDuplex@Apr 15 2004, 09:41 AM
It is strange that relieving fuel pressure causes those codes. I have replaced my filter 2 times within 4 years now and haven't seen any code in PCM.
How did you relieve the pressure?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
Pulled the fuel pressure plug in the trunk (or whatever you call it), let the car idle, it dies itself couple minutes later.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
712 Posts
Originally posted by FullDuplex@Apr 15 2004, 01:45 PM
Pulled the fuel pressure plug in the trunk (or whatever you call it), let the car idle, it dies itself couple minutes later.
I think that is usually how the code is set, but I guess it doesn't happen every time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
Many standard maintenance procedures don't trigger codes if they are performed properly. There are some procedures which throws code but changing fule filter is not one of them. I can bet for this.... I've never heard of this before.
If you install the filter wrong then may be engine won't get fuel and pcm throws the codes. I am sure his dealer did something different, something out of ordinary.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Drove back home this evening and the car is really cutting out when you get into it hard. I stopped by the Local autozone and got the codes cleared. Went and watched my daughter play ball and drove around town a little bit, no codes.On the way home I hit it hard and the Check engine light came back on and car really is missing bad when you get into the throttle.

I am too tired to mess with it tonight but I will track it down sometime this weekend or I may just get a bicycle.

I looked over the Bosch spark plug thread and I am thinking that may be part of the problem. I will get the codes rechecked and see if it is a fuel delivery problem.

Has anyone ever put a fuel filter in backward? If so what were the results?

Mike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
QUOTE
Has anyone ever put a fuel filter in backward? If so what were the results?[/b]
I don't think that your car'll be able to run. I think you are running multiple problems. Fuel filter was one of them but the other are not discovered yet. Good luck.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,433 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
I have been looking for my daughter a car and I called the local Ford dealer. They had a 97 Sable with 80K on it and I told them to bring it by and take my taurus in to get it diagnosed.
The Service writer called me and asked me to explain what happened and I did. She asked me if I knew that I threw the code at 97mph and I said yeah ok. Anyway the mechanic said that he drove it and he wasn't going to drive it 97mph and he couldn't get it to throw the code. He told me that because of the mileage it was probably starting to wear and had debris on the pickup screen that caused it to cavitate when there was less than half a tank in it.

cost $69.00

Is there an aftermarket higher flow pump on the market?

Has anyone ever put a Holley or other brand High flow inline pump on their car?
I really don't look forward to dropping the tank.

btw way I filled it up and wound it up and there weren't any problems so the mechanic may be right.

Mike
 
G

·
I haven't seen any inline pumps installed, but I think some of the V8 SHO guys are using either Walbro pumps, or a Cobra pump. Supposedly the Cobra pump fit with no modifications.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
QUOTE
How did you relieve the pressure?[/b]
Hummmm... I just pulled the filter clips and jerked the lines off the filter.


Ok, so I had some stains in my driveway that needed to be cleaned up anyway.

Hehehehehe...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,111 Posts
Originally posted by mwt@Apr 16 2004, 05:47 PM
She asked me if I knew that I threw the code at 97mph and I said yeah ok.
Wow... OBD-II can tell you how fast you were going when you threw a code, huh?


Luckily, OBD-I can't.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top