Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So my 2001 was wrecked. I bought a 2003 and basically had to purchase my 2001 back from the wrecker server. I have put too much time and money into it to let it go. I figured I would use it for parts BUT I would like to slowly rebuild it if possible although I have never done anything this advanced before. I am familiar with going to the salvage yards and replacing parts.

I figured I would just keep removing damaged parts until no more remain and then start rebuilding from salvage parts/etc. BUT I have run into a problem that I am not familiar with. I have attached a picture with arrows. This metal is crumpled at the elbows of it and it is all connected to and a part of the inner lining of the engine compartment. I apologize I do not know the correct name of what its called. I cannot continue as this cannot be removed OR it can and I need to see if its possible to repair it as I believe removing it is beyond my skills.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
7,538 Posts
That's the front crash structure or bumper support. Honestly you're going to have a hard time fixing this if you don't have a shop full of body equipment and experience. It's not going to be as easy as unbolting the wrecked parts and putting on new ones. You're probably going to have to cut out that bumper, straighten the structure, and weld a new bumper on at a minimum. You also have a buckled fender so you might have a bent frame. This is dicy because in the event of another collision the front of the car might not hold up again (cars are only designed to be crashed once).

So you can take it to a body shop and try to get a quote (I wouldn't be surprised if they call it totaled). Your only other options are to sell it to a junkyard or part it out.

·
Registered
461 Posts