Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,834 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Even though I have been working with computers for years (Over 10 years that's for sure), I never decided to take the A+. My college is offering it, so I figured... Might as well. Might help me find a better job since I am losing the one I am at now, and I want out of retail.

A bit nervous, everyone tells me I should do just fine.

Anyone else certified? Or have other certs? Personally, I think they are bullshit... I've met too many certified people who have their heads up their asses. Anyone can read a book and take a test, but to actually perform the work is a whole different story. Sadly... Employers disagree with my philosophy, and require it. Guess I gotta join the bandwagon :p

·
Premium Member
607 Posts
I Havnt Got Certs.... Been at a Tech Support/Desktop position for 3 and a half years... we've hired 3 people with Certs.... and Fired 3 people with certs... unfortunately some people think that a piece of paper means your a master pc guru... where some of them are only book smart... but if you got 10 years experience then i dont think its a bad thing to get your certs....... should help get a better job

The 3 people we fired... all had A+ Network + MCSA etc etc etc... and were more burnt then a doorknob in a house fire

not saying thats the norm tho because some people with their certs are really good at their jobs... eventually i plan to get mine once i get more experience in the field

·
Premium Member
15,578 Posts
I don't work with anyone with a cert, except for CISSP (Certified Information Systems Security Professional). It's a cert you get when doing security work with government systems.

The only people I've known that have had certs and knew their ass from their elbow were people with Cisco certs. Other than that, A+ is a complete waste of time.

JR

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
yeah i have an a+. Pretty easy to pass imo.

·