Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
WILL a duratec or sho MAF, directly pulgin to the vulcans maf ports?
And are there any larger TB's that will work with a vulcan?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,930 Posts
Originally posted by JasonBVHS@Jan 27 2004, 04:43 PM
WILL a duratec or sho MAF, directly pulgin to the vulcans maf ports?
IIRC, all Ford MAF's have the same ports, so they should all interchange. Keyword being should.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
160 Posts
Originally posted by 97GreenStreak3.0+Jan 27 2004, 06:50 PM-->QUOTE (97GreenStreak3.0 @ Jan 27 2004, 06:50 PM)
<!--QuoteBegin-JasonBVHS
@Jan 27 2004, 04:43 PM
WILL a duratec or sho MAF, directly pulgin to the vulcans maf ports?
IIRC, all Ford MAF's have the same ports, so they should all interchange. Keyword being should.[/b]
I dont think it would work. I attached a file, see the explenation. It appears it is caliblrated for the specific engine. Might physically fit though.
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,930 Posts
Yes, the sensor is calibrated to go with a specific engine, which is why you need a chip if you are going to upgrade to a different MAF.

However, Jason asked if SHO/Duratec MAF's will plug into a Vulcan port, and the answer to that question is yes. You're just going to need a chip to get it to work correctly. Does that make sense?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
yes that does, i just needed to know if the plugs matched, i knew that switching them would require a chip or additional programing, thanks guys
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top