Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Ford Mustang. 2005 Harley Deluxe. 2016 Freightliber Cascadia.
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok as some of you may or may not know my Bull has been down for awhile now. Blew the piston rings. The cylinder walls should still be in fairly good condition. I have a 2.3L 4 Cyl. It is possible I might be able to scrap up what I need to just replace the piston rings(gaskets and all that stuff). How feasable is this as opposed to rebuilding the entire engine, which in that case I'll either have to scrap the car, part it out, or wait a year or two and might have to scrap it anyway. The car is a fairly rare MT-5, with just barely over 100K on it. It's an 86, I've done alot of work to it, in customization. Was actually getting ready to order SFC's and STB's from Bob, as well as a nice set of wheels and tires, but when she hosed me it cost me my job since I was a driver. I was also going to replace the drivers side fender, and then have her repainted. Not just a cheapo job either but a nice paint job. So what do y'all think? Jack it up, pop the oil pan, D/C the con rods, pop the piston/rod combo's out, replce the rings, set them back in, button it back up? Most everything on the engine is brand new. Over 3500 in new parts under the hood right before I got her. All new sensors, injection is brand new, etc. Be a shame to let that kinda stuff go to waste. Thoughts please? Anyone? I'm broke as broke can get. I MAY be able to pick up an MT-5 parts car, but I have no idea at this point. Thanks in advance.

Michael

·
Registered
48 Posts
Not really feasible.

If the rings are "blown", it would take a miracle for the cylinder walls to have survived intact.

Pistons should come out the top, not the bottom for proper replacement. While it might be possible, I wouldn't recommend it.

Steve

·
Registered
21 Posts