Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last summer I had some issues with water temp (according to the stock gauge) with the AC on. In stop and go traffic the gauge got into the danger zone a few times.

This summer I'd like to install an aftermarket gauge to get a better indication of what the water temp ACTUALLY is.

I am a semi-competent home mechanic, but I know nothing about how to go about installing a temp gauge.

Can anyone tell me how I would go about this with the 3.4L?

·
Registered
9,618 Posts
Last summer I had some issues with water temp (according to the stock gauge) with the AC on. In stop and go traffic the gauge got into the danger zone a few times.

This summer I'd like to install an aftermarket gauge to get a better indication of what the water temp ACTUALLY is.

I am a semi-competent home mechanic, but I know nothing about how to go about installing a temp gauge.

Can anyone tell me how I would go about this with the 3.4L?
There are a variety of gage systems that tap the OBDII port. U could on some have a set point warning for a temp.

The OBD info is quite accurate.

Added pic of my simple carchip recorder and temp from ~100 degree outside driving in highway, and city stop and go. Of course it has no display, but records data you choose, play back on computer. Does let me see when the fans kick in to manage the temp.

-chart-

·
Registered
43 Posts
i got this scan gauge plugs into obd2 and it reads a multitude of things going on in the car check there website out scangauge . com my water temp sits around 85 while driving and in trafic goes to 98 no higher and my volts sit around 14.5

Attachments

·
Premium Member
17,415 Posts
Celsius. Just so no one wonders why your temps are so 'low', lol!
omg his speedometer can read up to 180!!!!!111111 super fast edition.

Just kidding to our Canadian neighbor :)