Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am wanting to inject coolant into my 1999 Taurus. I bought the kind that has the hose attached. I was wondering if there was a specific way to proceed, as I have heard a couple variations. Someone told me to dip the cans in warm water and to shake cans periodically. The specs say I need approximately 34-36 oz so I bought 4 cans, how should I store any left overs? I live in AZ so it's very hot here right now. Is it safe to store in garage? Any advice would be appreciated. :):)

·
Registered
430 Posts
Cwest,
I am not an expert, but I had good luck with mine. I recommend you read up on how to service your system, all the info is on the net. First of all you need to answer some questions. Why are you attempting to add freon? If you had a leak has it been repaired? Is the system completely empty? Those cans with the hose are okay if you are a little low but you really have no way to accurately measure what you are doing. If you changed a line or compressor it is fairly easy to do it the correct way. If you have Autozone parts stores in AZ they have a loaner program where you can borrow a set of guages and a vacuum pump. Read up on how to do it right. It is critical that you get just enough freon in to meet specs and then stop. The more freon you put in the less efficient your cooling will be. If you decide to go ahead, keep the cans upright so only gas and not liquid goes into the system. You can store the unopened cans anywhere.

·
Super Moderator
8,586 Posts
Scout1 sumed it up pretty well. Just one thing to add..... if the system has / had a bad leak, it likely lost some oil as well as 134a, and some correct / compatable oil will also be needed. Oil fill amount isnt as critical as 134a amount, but must still be close to spec. Too little oil is obviously bad, but too much will have a significant effect on cooling ability.

·
Registered
49 Posts