Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts
Are you trying to install a "chip"?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:03 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721726
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:01 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721725
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 05:49 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721721
Are you trying to install a "chip"?[/b]

Yep
[/b][/quote]
Then I'm not telling you


That thing won't do anything but waste fuel and potentially damage your car. Ever had to replace catalytic converters? It's not cheap.
[/b][/quote]

thanks for the word of caution, but its my car and my decision to make
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts
Have at it

The IAT is integrated with the MAF (the sensor in the intake tube).


The converters for your car two of three are 300 and 396 respectively from rockauto. Have fun running pig rich.

And you don't have a 2006 DOHC Taurus, you have the OHV in that year.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,158 Posts
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:11 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721732
Have at it

The IAT is integrated with the MAF (the sensor in the intake tube).


The converters for your car two of three are 300 and 396 respectively from rockauto. Have fun running pig rich.

And you don't have a 2006 DOHC Taurus, you have the OHV in that year.[/b]
Nice reply with great knowledge that's why im still a member here
..."GOOD WARNING" :thumb:

Very knowledgeable people on this site got to love it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Have at it

The IAT is integrated with the MAF (the sensor in the intake tube).


The converters for your car two of three are 300 and 396 respectively from rockauto. Have fun running pig rich.

And you don't have a 2006 DOHC Taurus, you have the OHV in that year.
[/quo

Ive already got a different exhaust on. that was mod 1
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts
You didnt remove the converters in the exhaust manifolds, I can pretty much guarantee that. Those are the $$ ones
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,158 Posts
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 06:06 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721728
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:03 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721726
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:01 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721725
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 05:49 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721721
Are you trying to install a "chip"?[/b]

Yep
[/b][/quote]
Then I'm not telling you


That thing won't do anything but waste fuel and potentially damage your car. Ever had to replace catalytic converters? It's not cheap.
[/b][/quote]

thanks for the word of caution, but its my car and my decision to make
[/b][/quote]

Have at it and good luck :thumb: just remember what 00tec-saTX told you
these guys on here are not dummies
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 06:39 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721747
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:24 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721740
You didnt remove the converters in the exhaust manifolds, I can pretty much guarantee that. Those are the $$ ones[/b]
so what you're telling me is the chip restricts the air flow so much, that I'm dumping gas directly into my exhaust?
[/b][/quote]
oh and yes the manifold converters are gone. New exhaust from manifold back.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:39 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721747
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:24 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721740
You didnt remove the converters in the exhaust manifolds, I can pretty much guarantee that. Those are the $$ ones[/b]
so what you're telling me is the chip restricts the air flow so much, that I'm dumping gas directly into my exhaust?
[/b][/quote]
The chip tricks the computer into thinking the car is running lean, the computer compensates by using extra fuel. There is no benefit to installing that thing. It will also cause your engine to create more carbon deposits on the pistons, valves, heads, plugs, etc.


BTW: Don't know if you bought it already, but you could have done the same thing with a resistor from radio shack for less than $1.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
QUOTE (GODFATHER @ Apr 29 2009, 06:27 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721741
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 06:06 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721728
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:03 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721726
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:01 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721725
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 05:49 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721721
Are you trying to install a "chip"?[/b]

Yep
[/b][/quote]
Then I'm not telling you


That thing won't do anything but waste fuel and potentially damage your car. Ever had to replace catalytic converters? It's not cheap.
[/b][/quote]

thanks for the word of caution, but its my car and my decision to make
[/b][/quote]

Have at it and good luck :thumb: just remember what 00tec-saTX told you
these guys on here are not dummies
[/b][/quote]

I'm not saying anyones a dummy, I'm just trying to make the most informed decision that I can
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:44 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721749
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:39 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721747
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:24 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721740
You didnt remove the converters in the exhaust manifolds, I can pretty much guarantee that. Those are the $$ ones[/b]
so what you're telling me is the chip restricts the air flow so much, that I'm dumping gas directly into my exhaust?
[/b][/quote]
The chip tricks the computer into thinking the car is running lean, the computer compensates by using extra fuel. There is no benefit to installing that thing. It will also cause your engine to create more carbon deposits on the pistons, valves, heads, plugs, etc.


BTW: Don't know if you bought it already, but you could have done the same thing with a resistor from radio shack for less than $1.
[/b][/quote]

No I hadn't bought it yet, but thanks for the info. how is it that people are getting better gas mileage with them then?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,064 Posts
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:51 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721753
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:44 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721749
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 05:39 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721747
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 06:24 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721740
You didnt remove the converters in the exhaust manifolds, I can pretty much guarantee that. Those are the $$ ones[/b]
so what you're telling me is the chip restricts the air flow so much, that I'm dumping gas directly into my exhaust?
[/b][/quote]
The chip tricks the computer into thinking the car is running lean, the computer compensates by using extra fuel. There is no benefit to installing that thing. It will also cause your engine to create more carbon deposits on the pistons, valves, heads, plugs, etc.


BTW: Don't know if you bought it already, but you could have done the same thing with a resistor from radio shack for less than $1.
[/b][/quote]

No I hadn't bought it yet, but thanks for the info. how is it that people are getting better gas mileage with them then?
[/b][/quote]
False claims, or they are running their car dangerously lean.
If you want to add performance/gas mileage, contact SHOZ123 for a REAL tune.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts
FYI:
Lean = very bad

It makes combustion very hot to the point where it will burn/melt internal motor parts such as valves and pistons.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,048 Posts
QUOTE (cable @ Apr 29 2009, 06:36 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721804
QUOTE (00tec-saTX @ Apr 29 2009, 07:28 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=721770
FYI:
Lean = very bad

It makes combustion very hot to the point where it will burn/melt internal motor parts such as valves and pistons.[/b]
so does the chip make it run lean or rich?
[/b][/quote]
I believe it can be configured either way depending on install. Most are shown to install and run rich.


I just made that post to point out that lean is bad as well.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top