Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total noob at car audio.
I want some bass, but I know I don't want an box in my trunk.
Would replacing the stock speakers in my 2001 Ford Taurus SE give me a good amount of bass?
If not, would a Bazooka sub be a good option for my car?

·
Premium Member
346 Posts
Ok. the basics. The radio in a Taurus is interesting to say the least. The actual radio in the dash is nothing more then a control panel. The actual RADIO and BRAINS is in your trunk. Under the drivers side carpet on the wheel well in the trunk you will see a small metal box. This is called the RCU (rear control unit) The one you have is VERY most likely the stock version which only gives each speaker 3 watts of power. Very very very crappy. There is a better version of this. Its called the Mach RCU. It is simply Fords Premium Sound System. Just by replacing this you will gain a TONx1000000TON bass and sound quality. Also there are tweeters you can add that came factory in some more loaded versions of the Taurus that replace the flat black cover on the doors behind the outside mirrors. Just by upgrading these two things you will make a HUGE difference in your sound and gain a lot of bass. If interested I have a Mach amp I'd sell to you shipped for about $55. You can get stuff at a junkyard if your lucky enough to find them and can get it a little cheaper but my yards charge a average of 30-40 for them and maybe 5-10 bucks for the tweeters. Durasel on here usually can offer a full Mach upgrade with the RCU and Tweeters to match for a fair price and offers a 30 day warranty I believe.

Let that sink in and post back :D
welcome to the forums

·
Premium Member
129 Posts
QUOTE (DudeItIsJason @ Jun 3 2010, 12:21 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=808897
Would replacing the stock speakers in my 2001 Ford Taurus SE give me a good amount of bass?