Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
15,922 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so last night I graduated high school and went to the grad night party. Well, about two hours into the party, I realized my keys weren't in my pocket. I started panicing. After looking for them, I couldn't find it. Then I realized, "OMG, I locked them in the car!" So, I rush out to my car and look in the passenger side and sure enough, they were in the ignition and all the doors were locked! Now the obscenities were flying! Ok, now I go back to the party and ask for help. The cops couldn't help me because they didn't carry those tools. And it was after midnight so I didn't want to call my parents and wake them up because I did something so stupid so I tried to find a metal coat hanger. My friend said he might be able to help me break in if I left the window cracked open a bit. At that moment, I didn't recall if the window was down or not. I eventually found a coat hanger and bent it straight. We went back to the car and found out the window wasn't cracked. So we tried to pry the seal apart (where the door meets the body) and that didn't work too well. My friend put a one inch scratch in my car from messing with the coat hanger. So he trys to slim-jim it with the coat hanger, but that doesn't work because there's a plastic sheet inside the door. He tries to get it out, but the stupid hanger got caught by the window. We got it out with some force. So he leaves to get a flashlight. Then I try again. I know there's a spot in the B-pillar near the window where the weatherstripping has a gap in it. I got it in, but it wasn't long enough to hit the power lock button and I couldn't get it to the top of the door. So, I had an idea. If I couldn't slim-jim it from the outside, maybe I could do it from the inside. The hanger already had a hook bent into a V from before when we tried to slim-jim it from the outside. I know the door panel is a litt