Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is NOT an ad for a car parts company. I'm new to this, so I'm excited about something that some of you already know and have done.
I bought a 2006 Taurus SEL for $400 with a clean title. I planned on spending another $1600 or so to get it just right. The body is great, sunroof, no rust, great paint, low miles. It needs a tune up and some parts replaced. It needs Power steering pump, Battery, hood lifts, air filter, a hood jouncer(?), three tires and a few non-critical trim pieces.
Oh, and an ENTIRE interior.
The leather interior was absolutely shredded, even the foam under the leather. Plus it stank of funk. My guess is that someone or something died in it, or it was a flood car or it has a very leaky passenger side issue. Or all of the above.

I removed the entire interior. Literally everything that was made of cloth except the headliner. It's an empty metal shell inside now.
Still stank. I put a odor removing fogger in it and now it smells like a sharpie. haha
I started looking for interior pieces and realized two things:
1) Repairing the interior is outrageously expensive.
2) Buying the individual pieces is very expensive.
3) It's too difficult to find every piece matching.

My solution?
I watched Craig's List and found (and bought) a state inspected 2002 Taurus for $400. Clean title. 200,000+ miles. The body is beater-chic but the interior is pretty good. It runs great but doesn't shift into OD. It has nearly new: battery, plug wires, plugs, hood lifts, alternator plus most of the missing pieces I need except for the center console flip-thing. It also has two almost new tires and one good enough to pass inspection.
Basically, I just bought about $2000 worth of parts for $400.
Now, hopefully, all I have to do is transfer the parts to the 2006 Taurus, repair the rest and have someone tow the 2002 donor car to a junk yard.

·
Registered