Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,306 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Solved a bunch of problems with this last fuel filter change. I've been changing it yearly since 2005, but this time it seems that it actually helped.

Lately, the car has been having a real hard time starting. It would take 3 or 4 times. Even priming didn't always work because it would cough and die usually.

This time when I changed the filter, brown gas ran out of the input side. Upon taking it apart, I found chunks of rust plugging it up... wowo.

It's a new tank too. Anyway, just much much happier that the car runs right now. I can actually keep up with traffic now! No more going up the slow lane with 4 ways on because I can only go 20 mph slower than traffic.

Next up is the filler neck.

·
Registered
513 Posts
Wow, every year? I'm pretty sure the fuel filter on my 95 has never been changed, I know its not been changed since I've owned it (2006). It seems to run fine.... knock on wood. I guess if it does start having fuel starvation problems that will be the first place I look at.

·
Registered
3,748 Posts
as the original owner, i changed my fuel filter for the first time 1-2 years ago. i though i would feel a difference and did not.

·
Premium Member
7,800 Posts
QUOTE (SHOZ123 @ May 2 2009, 12:07 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=722380
Sounds like a load of bad gas.[/b]
:werd:

I do mine annually too, which works out to roughly every 18-22k miles...I've never had it come out that bad, and I still have the original tank from 2001.

·
Registered
507 Posts