Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone-first i'd like to say this is a very informative forum that i have been checking out for a couple months.My car has a couple of problems one of wich is now that it is colder out when i start it in the morning it immediatly idles at around 2000 rpm for about 15-20 seconds and then drops down to 1100 rpm or so and from there it gradually settles at 700-750.To me it seems as though the 2000 rpm cycle is not needed because the 1100 rpm is sufficiant enough to warm the engine at start.What sensor or control tell the IAC to idle that high when it is cold.I got this car this past summer and it does not idle that high at start when the weather is warm out.Thanks for all replies!
Robert

·
Registered
283 Posts
well, not sure but when cold out the engine idles high to warm up. i have not noticed if mine goes as high as 2000 but it does go up. it is normal for this to happen. i will check how high mine goes tomorow morning and let u know.

·
Registered
13 Posts
...What sensor or control tell the IAC to idle that high when it is cold...
[/b]
The PCM uses the IAC valve assembly to control:

No touch start
Cold engine fast idle for rapid warm-up
Idle (corrects for engine load)
Stumble or stalling on deceleration (provides a dashpot function)
Over-temperature idle boost.
Air Assist to Injectors.

The PCM controls this and it's listed as a feature. Same thing happens to mine. Only solution I know, move some where warm. B)

·
Premium Member
1,318 Posts
It is normal for it to idle high for the first 15-20 seconds when it's cold. Although, mine doesn't hit 2000, it usually goes a little over 1500.

·
Registered
283 Posts