Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I just purchased an HID kit from a local distributor in Canada. The kit looks EXACTLY IDENTICAL to the one in the following picture, only it didn't include the harnesses on the left that i circled in yellow.

That is a relay harness. I am no expert in HID kits so im not sure why that would be needed. My kit is for a 9007 setup. I installed the kit and disabled the DRL because the lights were flickering on and off when the light switch was in the OFF position, but the HIDs light up nicely when the switch is in the ON position. However when the lights are turned to the ON position, the high-beam light appears in the dash. The high beams dont do anything when i pull the High-beam leaver towards me, however when i push it forward, the lights take a second and then it shuts the left(drivers) side headlight off and leaves the right one on. The high-beam signal on the dash is always on in all these cases.

Now... the kit came with the following type of bulb (only its a 9007 type):

It is a 2 bulb design with a halogen beside the xenon. What is the extra bulb for? Is that a high beam or a DRL replacement? And the most important question, do i need that extra wiring from the first picture in order for the system to work properly?

Thank you.

·
Premium Member
1,101 Posts
Well looks like you got everything for the kit but most of them come without the relay harness which I believe is the harness you connect to your stock 9007 and will get rid away from that flickering because this HID bulbs draw a lot of power for your stock harness so that is require to handle the extra power from the HID kit. You can get that heavy duty harness from ebay or Summit Racing where I got mine from. As for the bulbs I don't know but it looks like its a bi-xenon bulb I guess.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3