Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was trying to install install my diablo chip and I can't get my car to start - took the chip out... car still won't start!!! HELP! :eek:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
305 Posts
I am assuming you put the OEM chip in. Un hook the battery for a while and then hook it up again. Also check the gas shutoff in the trunk.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
193 Posts
Originally posted by jason8225@May 5 2004, 05:24 PM
I was trying to install install my diablo chip and I can't get my car to start - took the chip out... car still won't start!!! HELP! :eek:
Is the connector on the EEC on right? Is it on tight? Did you disconnect the battery before you disconnected/reconnected the EEC? That could be a bad thing. ESD can cause you some problems too. I work with routers and switches all day and I always wear a static strap whenever I am working with electronics. I hope you didn't run into an ESD issue.

Good luck.

-Nate
 
G

·
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah, everything is back to original condition. Checked the gas shutoff... it's not popped. Thanks for reminding me about that :) I have the battery unhooked right now - I'm waiting a full 15 minutes before plugging it back in and trying again.

Thanks.
 
G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Originally posted by NateNBeckie+May 5 2004, 06:30 PM--><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (NateNBeckie @ May 5 2004, 06:30 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-jason8225@May 5 2004, 05:24 PM
I was trying to install install my diablo chip and I can't get my car to start - took the chip out... car still won't start!!!  HELP!  :eek:
Is the connector on the EEC on right? Is it on tight? Did you disconnect the battery before you disconnected/reconnected the EEC? That could be a bad thing. ESD can cause you some problems too. I work with routers and switches all day and I always wear a static strap whenever I am working with electronics. I hope you didn't run into an ESD issue.

Good luck.

-Nate [/b][/quote]
Yeah, I disconnected the battery before disconnecting & reconnecting the EEC. We didn't have any ESD discharges during the install.... Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
193 Posts
Alot of times our techs don't know they had an ESD discharge either, until Cisco calls us and tells us it was ESD. OOPS!! $80,000 down the pipes. You won't always see or feel anything. It doesn't take much...
 
G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
OK, the car starts now with the chip out after I let it set for 15 mins. I don't know what the deal was, but I'm leaving the chip out. Thanks guys!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
689 Posts
Electro Static Discharge. I took CISCO in High School. 1 and 2 only. Going back this fall to MATC for the rest of the course. :) Thought u all would like to know. lol

Adam
 
G

·
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Originally posted by 97vulcan@May 6 2004, 09:05 PM
Electro Static Discharge. I took CISCO in High School. 1 and 2 only. Going back this fall to MATC for the rest of the course. :) Thought u all would like to know. lol

Adam
Yeah... I took all the Cisco courses, too and have my CCNA. ;) :)
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top