Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. I just signed up a few minutes ago...
I am now the owner of a Taurus 1998 SE - but that's about all I know about it, or cars in general. Even though I've been a driver for the last 6 years, I never had my own car and I always trusted others with fixing and tinkering the even the smallers of things. I am pretty sure I could change a tire if I have too, but there are many many more things I should know and I don't. Here are some questions I have... I ran a search for most of them, but I would appreciate and help - even if it means directing me to a different post :p

First of - tires.
My tires make a little hissing noise every time I go over a bump in the road, it sounds like air is getting out. The front tires seem somewhat flat, and I would like to fill air in them... I know the pressure table (or numbers) are on a sticker at the side of the door, but can someone tell me what exactly am I looking for? there are a bunch of numbers there, including the VPN.

Another issue is the little red-warning light about an open door. I double checked, all of my doors are closed, but the light is still on. Any suggestions?

More...? sure: At high speeds on highway, there is a low humming noise. I think it comes from the wheels or something. When I got the car, the back wheel's break (I don't know what part of it, I think it's the plate that the breaks press on, I am missing the jargon) was really pressing on the wheel and it rubbed it hard when I drove, I have to get it fixed. Maybe it's connected to this problem? The humming noise starts at around 50mph, and reaches a peak at 60 - 65. it is monotonic, like a wavy sound, the frequency changes with the speed. when I go over 65 and into 70, the noise is gone. anyone has any idea what's that about?

That's it for now. I'm sure there would be ton of more questions... any comments are welcome!