Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking that at 170k on the clock (1998 SE Wagon with a Vulcan) I may be good to put in new piston rings while I'm this far. They'd be cheap compared to ever trying to do it again. I have a new water pump in as of last year, new alternator, some new suspension parts, new tires, the car is decent looking, and here's the kicker for me...

the cylinder walls still have the factory (I'd guess) crosshatching on them.

So would it be wise to re-ring at this point?

Anything I would need to know before doing the rings. I found an interesting link that applies to hondas. I'd guess it'd be the same on the Taurus but with our Ford specs. I've never done rings before but I'd think it wouldn't be that hard. Definitely easier now than after the heads are back on.

·
Premium Member
1,283 Posts
If you run new rings, you also have to rehone the cylinder walls, and break the engine in again. . I would say not to unless you are building the motor for a special project. The original rings have a lot of life left in them, they are already broken in, they have not failed, and show no signs that they will anytime soon.

·
Super Moderator
8,586 Posts
^^^^ +1

With the modern materials used for rings these days (even back in 98), ring wear in modern engines has pretty much become a non issue. Unless you had low compression due to rings, broken rings (you would see the scratches in the cyl walls from this) or excesive blowby, just put it back together.

·
Premium Member
1,090 Posts
You could get the heads rebuilt to restore some compression. (Valve seats, guides, rockers, etc...) Personally, if the rings aren't causing any problems I would save them for when you do a full rebuild. Otherwise, it will be almost as much of a headache without the full benefit.