Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I own a 1999 Taurus SE with a 3.0 V6 Vulcan OHV which is OK,(Saving up for a Duratec). I had just taken off my intake silencer, and I'm impressed with the sound my bull has now :D . Next I want to change my air filter out to a High performance air filter. I'm stuck between two choices of K&N OR GREEN High performance air filters. I know most of you have experience with K&N, But do any of you have experience with Green? I would really appreciate feed back. Thanks all.

·
Premium Member
15,578 Posts
I have no experience with Green...never even heard of the company... I would go with the proven filter. Everyone here that has a K&N knows that they work well and are very good quality. Don't screw around with a no-name brand...

JR

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
If it's the Green I'm thinking about, I saw a display at the DC Grand Prix in '02 that used K&N's test to show how good it is and it BLEW the K&N away. I would look to see if you can find some comparable data on the two and put it side by side.

·
Premium Member
2,458 Posts
OOH!!! :hyper: Where did you find the Green filters?! I've been looking for them ever since Ford Carlisle 2003, when I saw they outflowed K&N by a LOT. (3-fords, are you talking about the ping-pong ball test?) I should have bought one then and there, dammit. Now I can't find them for sale anywhere. :(

Not sure how well they trap dirt, but they look to be made really well, unlike many of the other K&N knockoffs you see at the parts store.

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
Originally posted by SixFoFalcon@Jun 25 2004, 01:22 PM
(3-fords, are you talking about the ping-pong ball test?)
Yep!

At the time I saw it they were just getting started ( or so it seemed ) and I didn't pursue getting one. But the flow was amazing!

·
Registered
186 Posts
I believe if your gonna do something than do it right.

Please define "right".