Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
does anybody know where i can get glow gauges for a 99 taurus. the ones i'm talking about are the reverse glow gauges, i checked on ebay but none for the 99 were available. any websites out there that sell them??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
does it matter what taurus u have... cuz all these gauges say SE... i know they are all the same, but just wanted to make sure...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
486 Posts
No it doesnt matter. The only thing that matters is if you have the 110 mph speedometer or the 120 one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
443 Posts
Originally posted by whtcar@Apr 13 2004, 08:33 PM
So does that mean it won't work?
It works but some of the error message lights will be in the wrong places confusing you should somthing go wrong with the car.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
15,922 Posts
I think all but two of the lights are switch. I don't remember which ones they were though. And you can't switch the wires since it's an intergrated circuit board. Probably better to "cut-and-paste" the right icons to the right lights.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,277 Posts
My '96 has a 120mph speedo.....So would i buy 1999 120mph one?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,277 Posts
..umm anyone have a response to this....its been a few days
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
52 Posts
Originally posted by tmonster@Apr 13 2004, 10:42 PM
My '96 has a 120mph speedo.....So would i buy 1999 120mph one?
Yes. However, check the picture of the gauges that you see online and make that that they match what you have in your car. Good Luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
112 Posts
So, can you cut the idiot lights off, without damaging the guage, and use the stock ones. That would get a two-tone look that would be cool.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,277 Posts
..I like that idea.... and thanks for the help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
The symbols that are off were the brights and the turn signal. They just didn't match up with the cutout for some reason (different production dates I assume).

But honestly for the look of the gauges I would do it again no questions asked.

Don't worry about it, if you are a perfectionist you can do what one of the members did and chop off the top and bottom and just have the GAUGES reverse glow.

gl.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,893 Posts
Originally posted by hitman@Apr 19 2004, 12:42 PM
So, can you cut the idiot lights off, without damaging the guage, and use the stock ones.  That would get a two-tone look that would be cool.
very cool indeed... i remember two or three people have done two tones. i know jeff (96waggin) has'em, submariner also, i want to say brad had two tones at one point, i think mcgilles might have too but i dont know for sure. regardless theres info around here somewhere, let me see if i can dig up anything ;)

a-ha, here ya go...

jeff's (gen3):
http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/uploads/post-23-1091764532.jpg' alt='' width='380' height='139' class='attach' />[/url]

here's a link to a custom gauge producer thread:
[url=http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16&st=0]http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16&st=0[/url]

submariner's (gen4): [url=http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?&act=Garage&CODE=13&MID=2053&CID=245]http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?...ID=2053&CID=245[/url]
[url=http://homepage.mac.com/aslater18/tcca/installed.jpg][img]http://homepage.mac.com/aslater18/tcca/installed.jpg' alt='' width='800' height='600' class='attach' />[/url]

loudsho92's custom gauges (gen2)-- his came from speedhut.com:
[url=http://img100.exs.cx/img100/2058/guages.jpg][img]http://img100.exs.cx/img100/2058/guages.jpg' alt='' width='300' height='225' class='attach' />[/url]


and ill throw this out there, someone might find something useful here:
[url=http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=19371&st=0&#entry210601]http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?...=0&#entry210601[/url]


prolly my all time favorites, member Hawkand3's custom Scott Hrbacek gauges (only cost him $30!!!):
[url=http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/uploads/post-23-1094437416.jpg][img]http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/uploads/post-23-1094437416.jpg' alt='' width='448' height='336' class='attach' />[/url]
[url=http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/uploads/post-23-1094330397.jpg][img]http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/uploads/post-23-1094330397.jpg' alt='' width='448' height='336' class='attach' />[/url]
link: [url=http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=9419&st=0&#entry97650]http://www.taurusclub.com/forum/index.php?...t=0&#entry97650[/url]


two tone gauges are sweet in my opinion. to anyone pondering the thought, DO IT :)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,101 Posts
Tmonster, just get the one that has the 120 mph and they will work with your cluster but they only problems you may have is matching the glow gauges to light up your warning lights. I mean lets say your putting the glow gauge to match perfectly the Service Engine Soon but maybe the Cruise will not be fully visible and it might cut off the work. Anyway ... if you have this problem then the only way is to do what Brad (BabySHO) did and cut off the idiots lights in the glow gauge. You may check the picture in his garage to see what I mean. Hope this helps.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top