Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I'm a newbie with Taurus's. I've had mine since Aug 08 and I have enjoyed it so far. Recently, my 03 SES has developed an annoying rattle when the front passenger seat is empty. It rattles and I cannot tell if it's the seat itself or the seat back. I double checked the bolts to the floor and they appear okay. I looked at the existing topics and haven't found anything on that, but I'm hoping that I'm not the only one to experience a problem with that. It's extremely annoying when I go over the many bumps in my local roads. Oh...and I really appreciate the "big 3" article on the grounds that need to be redone. That's something I'm going to do soon. Thank you all.
Phil

·
Premium Member
17,415 Posts
I noticed this about my passenger seat as well. Curious to see what ideas people have. Checked the bolts on my car too.

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Ill 3rd this one too. Mine doesn't rattle so much over bumps, but I notice it making noise when I close my driver's side door, my bolts are tight too.... hmm....

·
Registered
147 Posts
Mine does as well....... curious to see people's ideas too. My bolts are tight. It seems like it is the back of the seat and the head rest.

·
Registered
402 Posts
Mine does it too, I just ignore it. It's the headrest. Owned two Tauri and both did it.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I'm not convinced it's the headrest because it doesn't make any noise at all when there's a passenger in the car even if there is no contact with the head rest. I am just having trouble telling if it is the seat or the seat back. I'm not sure how to tighten the seat back. If anyone has any ideas?...
Thanks again.

·
Premium Member
17,415 Posts
I just went outside and checked the headrest out. It is really loose, in both seats, there is a lot of play in it.

·
Registered
1,968 Posts