Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Car: 2001 Taurus SE with Vulcan and 82,000 miles (132,000km). Just purchased it two month ago. Done tune up (spark plugs, ignition wires, fuel filter), transmission fluid change, coolant change, oil (Castrol Syntec) and filter (OEM Motorcraft) change.

Question: when driving at low speed ~5-7mph occasionally Oil Pressure Light would start to flicker. Oil level is normal. What can be causing flickering light? And what is the remedy?

Thanks in advance.

P.S. I'm a newbie and I like this site and forum:)

·
Registered
2,492 Posts
Car: 2001 Taurus SE with Vulcan and 82,000 miles (132,000km). Just purchased it two month ago. Done tune up (spark plugs, ignition wires, fuel filter), transmission fluid change, coolant change, oil (Castrol Syntec) and filter (OEM Motorcraft) change.

Question: when driving at low speed ~5-7mph occasionally Oil Pressure Light would start to flicker. Oil level is normal. What can be causing flickering light? And what is the remedy?

Thanks in advance.

P.S. I'm a newbie and I like this site and forum:)

Welcome! What viscosity oil are you running? Sometimes if the oil is too thin it will set off the oil pressure sender because its flowing effortlessly.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Unless you live north of the Winisk river, I wouldn't be putting 0W20 in.
I live in Southern Ontario, GTA.

When I purchased a car, last owner was running 'Dino juice' with Lucas additive and Quaker State filter. Car had very same issue. So, I've switched to synthetic oil and Motorcraft filter but light still flickers maybe once in three weeks only when car moving at the snail pace. I use 5w-20, since that's what oil filler cap states.

If I leave it as is (by continuing using synthetic 5w-20), will there be any long term engine damage?

·
Premium Member
14,126 Posts