Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,708 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, it has been brought to my attention that some of the ecu's have the port to accept a chip, but the ports are shut off. I have no way of telling if my ecm has a live port or not, and i dont want to risk having a chip burned if my port wont even work. soooo... i need to track me down another ecm for me to have reflashed because i cant be without a car while my ecm is out getting reflashed.

so my question is, where can i find an ecm for my car to get reflashed??? I have a 2000 taurus, vulcan FFV. Your help is greatly appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Does anybody know for sure if this is true? I have a 03 Duratec, re-burned and installed a Superchip but I swear I can't tell it's there. Haven't had a chance to try and exceed 108 yet to verify, but it still does shut off in drive at 100 MPH/5K RPM. If it is true, I have a Superchip for sale.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,090 Posts
if the port is not enabled....enable it! you have to have soldering skills. (you have to bridge 2 points on the board inside the pcm)

Mine had the same problem and thats how i fixed it.

with 1 minute of searching...i found the link

Here (this shows you how)

Brad
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,458 Posts
I thought you could activate the port by soldering a jumper across two sets of terminals on the breadboard.

Here are the instructions in graphic format:



It's amazing the things you can find in the TCCA archives!


EDIT: JINX! Brad, you can't post now until someone sends you a PM containing your name.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
437 Posts
I don't *think* any 03's are disabled...looks like they just didn't get rid of the limiter.

There are like 5 different ways the EEC limits speed, they may have not gotten them all. If you do not get sorted out, I can help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Thanks for the link man, I'm pulling my computer right now. I'm sure the originator of this will need the same fix. I'll reply again with the results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Got the cover off my computer and I have a different circuit board then the one pictured. Obviously they updated the components on the newer models. I guess I'll have to sell the chip and send the computer in to be reflashed.
Was a good try though, thanks.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
952 Posts
Yeah, apparently there may be more then one place that ford disabled the service port on the chip. I was never able to get a chip working on my Gen 4 (2000) ECU even with two different computers. I ended up getting it flashed by American Motorsport. Something I might do later is to purchase thier kit for flashing the ECU yourself. This way I could load my own programs as often as I wanted even though it won't accept a chip.

-Dan
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,577 Posts
DId anybody ever figure out if th G4s have this issue w/ chips?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,708 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
holy old thread, batman. eek! and its mine! lol.

The chip works great on my 2000. I guess its hit or miss with some.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,686 Posts
Originally posted by dant98@Apr 20 2004, 06:38 AM
Yeah, apparently there may be more then one place that ford disabled the service port on the chip. I was never able to get a chip working on my Gen 4 (2000) ECU even with two different computers. I ended up getting it flashed by American Motorsport. Something I might do later is to purchase thier kit for flashing the ECU yourself. This way I could load my own programs as often as I wanted even though it won't accept a chip.

-Dan
I have an Xcalibrator tuner from AMS and it works very nicely... no screwing around with pullin the pcm and installin chips, crap like that. If you get the whole pkg, they'll send you the software and cables to download programs from your pc... so when you want something changed, they can write a new program, email it to you, and you can download it to the tuner, and then into your car. Very slick.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top