Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm really new to fiberglass, matter of fact I've never done it before. A friend of mine says its like papermache, I dont know though, I've seen people like caraudio do some crazy stuff with fiberglass though. So to get to the point I guess I'm just wondering if you know of any good websites or books on how to start with doing fiberglass work.

Thanks much

-Ryan

·
Premium Member
1,525 Posts
I got a DVD from this website. That is where I got my information from.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Originally posted by mattman3891@Oct 3 2004, 10:58 PM
I'm actually thinking of starting some fiberglass work myself, one good site I found was....

http://web.njit.edu/~cas1383/proj/main/index.htm

This site however actually makes it seem pretty easy, which I bet it isn't, of course I haven't tried it yet though.

-Matt
Actually, it is quite easy. What it is also, though, is messy as well. The resin is sticky and hardens quickly, so you have to work with some speed. The glass matting makes you itch like crazy if you get it in your skin, which is hard to avoid.

The tricks to working with it are mixing the amount of hardener that gives you the maximum curing time but still hardens, working the resin into the mat without shoving it all over the place, and getting air bubbles out from underneath the mat. This would all be very easy if you could spend lots of time on it, but like I stated, the cure time is limited, so you must work with some speed.