Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Banned
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well my gf's 2001 taurus 3.0 DOHC is having issues. it sputters randomly. She tries to accelerate and sometimes it'll fall on it's face. Sometimes it sputters at idle too.
i cleaned the MAf sensor and IAC (preventitive maintenance).
I also swapped the 3 plugs up front. This seemed to make it worse for some reason. I put it Autolite Double Plats.

She brought it into the shop today and they are telling us it's a bad coil pack.

My question is WHAT DO I NEED to replace the coil pack? I'm a shade tree mechanic, so i can do it on my own.
I know I need to remove the intake. What gaskets do i need to replace?
What size bolt holds the coil pack on?
It's a pretty straight forward swap, right?

Anything I need to know?
What exactly do i need to buy to replace my coil pack?
Obviously I need the coil pack, but any gaskets or special tools?
thanks guys, i'm doing tomorrow, so the sooner the better with your replies.

·
Premium Member
1,439 Posts
QUOTE (badass98svt @ Mar 4 2009, 12:53 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=705369
Well my gf's 2001 taurus 3.0 DOHC is having issues. it sputters randomly. She tries to accelerate and sometimes it'll fall on it's face. Sometimes it sputters at idle too.
I also swapped the 3 plugs up front. This seemed to make it worse for some reason. I put it Autolite Double Plats.

She brought it into the shop today and they are telling us it's a bad coil pack.

My question is WHAT DO I NEED to replace the coil pack? I'm a shade tree mechanic, so i can do it on my own.

Anything I need to know?
thanks guys, i'm doing tomorrow, so the sooner the better with your replies.[/b]
Do all the plugs and wires first. This may fix it. If you need a new coil, why add a new coil and leave the old wires and 3 old plugs there? There is a guide for changing the plugs here in the forums.

·
Banned
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #3