Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last time I did the brake on my car, I used drilled & slotted rotors, and it's the first time I did not experience the typical pad build up/rotor warp problem I always got in the past.

Since I've never owned a car with these, I was wondering since funds are low, can I just just buy pads this time, and maybe keep the rotors?

I know that's a no-no for regular rotors, but does that rule apply to these as well? I'm a drilled/slotted noob.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
Turn the rotors, or buy new ones. If you don't at least turn the rotors, they're going to mess up the new pads you put on, since the new pads will not be able to "seat" properly to the rotors, and stopping power will greatly be reduced. If you can, just nurse the brakes along until you can buy new/turn the rotors before putting pads on, you'll wish you did later if you don't.

·
Registered
5,820 Posts
Turn the rotors, or buy new ones. If you don't at least turn the rotors, they're going to mess up the new pads you put on, since the new pads will not be able to "seat" properly to the rotors, and stopping power will greatly be reduced. If you can, just nurse the brakes along until you can buy new/turn the rotors before putting pads on, you'll wish you did later if you don't.
It isn't needed. I have done it many times on many different cars. On top of that when I race I switch pads and I still do fine.

·
Premium Member
455 Posts
agreed,that old rotors are just fine (the old pads smoothed the rotor real good) UNLESS you wore the old pads down to the rivets and the rotor got gouged

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
Don't cut the rotors. The new pads will wear in, just break them in by doing a few miles of low speed driving with frequent gentle stops to seat the pads.

·
Registered
524 Posts
I've had just my pads replaced if the rotors are good.

·
Premium Member
1,654 Posts