Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone,

This is how I replaced the front motor mount on my Gen IV Duratec SEL.

Symptoms: The car didn't lurch or bump at all, but there was quite a bit of oil stains on the subframe, and at idle, NVH was slightly more than average. There was 155K on this mount when it took a dump.

Pre Cautions: DO NOT BUY ANCHOR MOUNTS. I bought two and both were defective :angry:

OEM mount cost $157 :(
NAPA mount cost $55, I hear these are alright.

What you will need:

2-4 hours (I am a former shop tech, and have a decent amount of experience). I was attacking this job at a leisurely pace at best. My guessing is that if I tried, I could do this in 45 minutes or less.

Coolant catch thingy

Phillips screwdriver (I used a #2 bit)

Flat screwdriver

8 mm allen wrench

Pliers to undo the radiator clamps

Ford Plastic Snaps (get a whole box at Autozone, they are like $4)

Jack and Piece of wood

5.5 mm
8 mm
10 mm
15 mm
13/16" sockets
Universal Joint (wobbly) adapter (Must have)
2-4" extension

I used 1/2" sockets for the most part, but 3/8" works also.

I would normally use an impact and shop tools to speed up the process greatly, but for kicks, I did it all with spanners and simple hand tools just to experience it for a change.

Now the fun begins:

1. Jack up the passenger side of the car and secure it on a jackstand.
No pic needed, if you don't know how to do this, I suggest not doing the job yourself. :)

2. Remove the wheel.

3. With the Phillips Screwdriver remove three screws that are holding the inner shield nearer to the front of the vehicle. This shield is also "stapled" to the subframe and secured by a plastic snap in the middle as well.