Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello Newby Here

Just wanted to say Hi, Looks like a great site so far, just starting to look at things here.

My Daughters 98 Taurus SE cooling system was full of rust, (3.0L 2 Valve Push Rod Engine) I just could not get the cooling system to clean up no how much I flushed it out and installed new antifreeze.

I had to change the water pump because it was overheating and it's heater would stop working when you would pull up to a signal, I was truly amazed to see the water pump impellers completely GONE, I use to be a Mechanic at a Ford dealership, but never saw anything like this.

I am a long time Diesel mechanic and have seen cooling system filters on them for many years, I decided to fabricate a mount and install a cooling system filter on the ol'e 98 Taurus. it has kept the antifreeze green for a long time now, it took the brown rust color out very quickly too.

I guess this is a very common problem on the 3.0 2 valve engine, I have noticed that when I go to wrecking yards and look at the Taurus and Sables with the 3.0L engine, every one of them are really rusty in and around the coolant tank area too.

Being around Diesel engines for many years I recognized the damage to the water pump form Cavitation Erosion on the water pump and it's impellers.

How have you All dealt with this problem?

Thanks,

Dusty

·
Premium Member
2,124 Posts
normally the members with vulcans suggest fluid changes pretty often every year or two at most. and it seems to do pretty well as long as it is kept up. and so long as it has been flushed really well if there were already rust issues.

·
Premium Member
1,300 Posts
When impeller blades are gone or coolant is rusty, I would first suspect improper coolant or a small leak.

·
Registered
1,047 Posts