Taurus Car Club of America : Ford Taurus Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
2003 Ford taurus Centennial Edition
1,405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some mechanic expertise here. My coolant has been slowly dripping from the belt side of the engine on my gen 3. Today it developed a loud squeal, when accelerating the motor,and just after began leaking more coolant. Is this my water pump? I hate to buy what I don't need , I think it is but I am asking to be sure,. Is this something I can do, I have some minimal knowledge of my engine and I have a chilton manual,as well. I found a new one at rockauto for about 24.00, is this better than a rebuilt one,or not?
Any questions please

·
Devoted Member
2,426 Posts
The squeak is probably the mechanical seal on the water pump gone bad. If it's a Vulcan engine, it's most likely the water pump...

·
Registered
23,350 Posts
Try to find the weep hole on the nose of the pump just behind the pulley and check for evidence of leakage. Most are on the bottom, but may be on top on a vulcan?

·
Cake monster
1,584 Posts
+1^

It might not be the waterpump, it could be coolant getting on the belt and causing it to slip.

You don't need to visually inspect the weep holes, put your finger over each hole and smell for antifreeze residue, if you do then it's time for a new pump. It takes me less than 30 seconds to pop a belt off a Vulcan, just pull the belt off and spin the waterpump, along with every other pulley.

Here's a tip for removing the coolant tank if the bolt is rusted on: You'll ruin the hole by turning the bolt to loosen it, it doesn't really matter but it will make it ugly. If the bolt looks stuck, I would take the passenger side tire off, inner fender and drill upward from inside the wheel well if possible, have someone hold the nut on top with a socket to stop it from spinning with the drill.

The pump is pretty easy to remove provided you have a decent set of box ends and sockets.

·
Premium Member